Arizona Exemptions

Exempt property is property that is protected by law from creditors. In Arizona, this exempt
property is defined by state statute so debtors cannot use any exemptions under federal law.
Except for the homestead exemption, most Arizona exemptions apply to each debtor, meaning
that in most cases, spouses filing a joint petition can double the allowed exemption.

Exemptions are created by state law and can change. There may also be additional restrictions
to some exemptions that you can discuss with your attorney. This list should only be used as a guideline.

 


         Asset                                                  Exemption Deduction                                                     Law
Homestead
Real property, an apartment or mobile home you occupy to $150,000; sale proceeds exempt 18 months after sale or until new home purchased, whichever occurs first husband and wife may not double
33-1101
Personal Property
2 beds and a living room chair per person; 1 dresser, table, lamp, bedding per bed; kitchen table; dining room table and 4 chairs (1 more per person); living room carpet or rug; couch; 3 lamps; 3 coffee or end tables; pictures, paintings, drawings created by Debtor; family portraits; refrigerator; stove; television; radio or stereo; alarm clock; washer; dryer; vacuum cleaner to $4,000 total
33-1125

Bible; bicycle; sewing machine; typewriter; burial plot; rifle, pistol or shotgun to $500 total
33-1125

Books to $250; clothing to $500;  wedding and engagement rings to $1,000; watch to $100; pets, horses, milk cows and poultry to $500;
musical instruments to $250; prostheses, including wheelchair
33-1125

Bank deposit to $150 in one account
33-1126(A)(8)

Food and fuel to last 6 months
33-1124

Motor vehicle to $5,000 ($10,000 if disabled)
33-1125

Prepaid rent or security deposit to $1,000
or 1 times your rent, whichever is less, in lieu of homestead
33-126(D)

Proceeds for sold or damaged exempt property
33-1126(A)(5), (7)
Insurance
Fraternal benefits or society benefits
20-881

Group life insurance policy or proceeds
20-1132

Health, accident or disability benefits
33-1126(A)(3)

Life insurance cash value to $1,000 per dependent ($25,000 total) husband and wife may double
33-1126(A)(3)

Life insurance cash value to $2,000 per dependent ($10,000 total)
22-1131(D)

Life insurance proceeds to $20,000 if beneficiary is spouse or child husband and wife may double
33-1126(A)(1)
Miscellaneous
Minor child’s earnings, unless debt is for child
33-1126(A)(2)

Property of business partnership
29-225
Pensions (see also Wages)
Board of Regents members 15-1628(I)

ERISA-qualified benefits deposited more than 120 days before filing bankruptcy
33-1126(B)

IRAs



Firefighters
9-968

Police Officers
9-931

Public Safety Personnel
38-850(C)

Rangers
41-955

State Employees
38-762
Public Benefits
Unemployment compensation
23-783

Welfare benefits
46-208

Workers’ compensation
23-1068
Tools of Trade
Arms, uniforms and accouterments you are required to keep
33-1130(2)

Farm machinery, utensils, seed, instrument of husbandry, feed, grain and animals to $2,500 total husband and wife may double
33-1127


Teaching aids of teacher
33-1127

Tools, equipment, instruments and books (except vehicle driven to work) to $2,500
33-1130(1)
Wages
Minimum 75% of earned but unpaid wages, pension payments; bankruptcy judge may authorize more for low-income debtors
33-1131